Commit 4a9d7083 authored by Greg Wilson's avatar Greg Wilson
Browse files

Non-7-bit characters

parent 225afc8e
......@@ -10,7 +10,7 @@ David Beitey <david@davidjb.com>
Trevor Bekolay <tbekolay@gmail.com>
Jared Berghold <jared@intersect.org.au>
John Blischak <jdblischak@gmail.com>
Maxime Boissonneau <maxime.boissonneault@calculquebec.ca>
Maxime Boissonneault <maxime.boissonneault@calculquebec.ca>
Azalee Bostroem <abostroem@gmail.com>
Andy Boughton <abought@gmail.com> <pchemist@gmail.com>
Amy Brown <amyrhoda@gmail.com>
......
......@@ -341,7 +341,7 @@ because that's more convenient when indices are computed rather than constant
(see [Mike Hoye's blog post](http://exple.tive.org/blarg/2013/10/22/citation-needed/)
for historical details).
As a result,
if we have an M&times;N array in Python,
if we have an M×N array in Python,
its indices go from 0 to M-1 on the first axis
and 0 to N-1 on the second.
It takes a bit of getting used to,
......@@ -641,7 +641,7 @@ print(numpy.mean(data, axis=0).shape)
~~~
{: .output}
The expression `(40,)` tells us we have an N&times;1 vector,
The expression `(40,)` tells us we have an N×1 vector,
so this is the average inflammation per day for all patients.
If we average across axis 1 (columns in our 2D example), we get:
......
......@@ -190,7 +190,7 @@ sequence
shape
: An array's dimensions, represented as a vector.
For example, a 5&times;3 array's shape is `(5,3)`.
For example, a 5×3 array's shape is `(5,3)`.
silent failure
: Failing without producing any warning messages.
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment